All webinar recordings are available online in resources.

Loading Events

« All Events

Fall symposium

October 30 @ 11:00 am 5:00 pm EDT

Join us for the 2021 Fall Symposium!

Saturday, October 30

8 am PT | 9 am MT | 10 am CT | 11 am ET | 12 pm AT | 12:30 pm NT

This gathering will mark a key moment in our journey, in Canada’s climate plan, and in global climate action as we engage with COP 26 (November 2021). We will hear the collective theological reflections in the Letter of the Faithful, learn about how our advocacy goals have evolved, and engage with faith leaders, theologians, climate organizers including:

  • Archbishop Mark MacDonald, National Indigenous Archbishop Anglican Church of Canada
  • The Rev. Dr. Daniel D. Scott, Moderator of the Presbyterian Church in Canada
  • Rev. Dr. Willard Metzger, Citizens for Public Justice
  • gkisedtanamoogk, KAIROS Indigenous Rights Circle
  • Councillor Christine Boyle, Vancouver City Council
  • Dr. Allyson Carr, Presbyterian Church in Canada
  • Sister Eva Solomon, csj
  • Dr. Sylvia Keesmaat
  • Flossie Baker, Climate Emergency Unit
  • Carol Thiessen, Canadian Foodgrains Bank
  • Jennifer Preston, Canadian Friends Service Committee (Quakers)
  • Ruva Gwekwerere, Citizens for Public Justice
  • and more!

Agenda:

11:00Welcome & Opening Prayer
11:30Session 1: Local Networking for Climate Action
12:30Break
1:00Session 2: Letter of the Faithful
2:15Break
2:30Session 3: Faithful in Action – Advocacy for Climate Justice
3:30Summary of the Day
3:45Closing Session
4:30Next Steps
4:45Commissioning of COP26 Delegation and Closing Prayer

Fees have been set to help cover the costs of this event ($10 Non-Student, $5 Student, $0 = Barrier Free)

If you have any questions about this event, please email flc.pac@gmail.com.

Online, EASTERN Time Zone